Let Go of Expectation, Enjoy the Moment

“Give up the control, it isn’t necessary to be on top of everything in your life”

FullSizeRender (24)

#firefly2017, is what the billboards read. Post it, tag it, support it, and just keep rolling with it.

It was the first time that I attended a true fest in the past 15 years, and just like I remember, it was a terrific experience. Sprawled across the woodland and grassy terrain of the nearby Dover International Speedway in Delaware, the fest was both alluring and overwhelming; a restorative event for the soul.

It began as a cloudy and muggy day, but before long an endless white ceiling gave way to the blistering sun. However intense it was, the unshakable and inescapable heat would not compete with the will of thousands, who gathered to feed their souls with inspiration and energy. No matter where one stood, eyes stared towards the music, while our necks faced the blistering sun. I stood beside my love and cheered the waves of performers and torrent of positive energy.

FullSizeRender (20)

In between sets, there seemed to be a repetitive flow of thousands of travelling bodies, all headed towards the food, water, and cold beer. Hordes of music-goers spent the down times soaking up limited shade across the property, while lines doubled or tripled in length, and tents over-crowded quickly. Yet, regardless of heat, expensive beer, underwhelming cuisine options, and sickening portable toilets, not once did I witness a sour face, an angry attendee, or overhear an argument. Everyone knew what they were there to experience, there was no confusion about that.

It was nothing but positive energy and smiles across the board. Sure, my experience was my own (well, mine and the beautiful woman by my side), and some likely saw a completely different side to the event. But therein lies the concept of attitude. Going into anything with unreasonable expectations, negativity, or a demanding complex, the event will yield similar feedback. Our experience was so pleasant because the only thing that we went there with was an open mind and zero expectations. We let the fest show us what it was made of, and it did not disappoint.

Things are different today, and life has shown me that sometimes the best thing that you can do is slow your thoughts and just let the moment be what it is. It’s not a thought that I was equipped with as a younger man. I let the crowds frustrate, the costs run me out of money, and the sun de-energize me, until I was ready to go home. It seems that I have outgrown the impatience, the intolerance, and the expectations. There is the key to happiness in almost anything.

We need to understand in life that sometimes it is better to relinquish control, and let life guide us through the moments. Give up the control, it isn’t necessary to be on top of everything in your life. Become a yes man or a yes woman, and understand that strength is not always represented by ensured outcomes. When we understand that our potential happiness can come to us easier in our moments when control is relinquished, versus trying to force the result, growth will gained in leaps. Be happy, let go of expectations sometimes; especially when you see that the alternative provides nothing.

IMG_4735

On a final note, my vote for best performance of Saturday (hands down) The Weeknd!

Until the next time and next topic, be happy.

Erich

Author: erichrallen

A pragmatic individual at core, I try to remain as grounded as possible in all things. Two aspects of my life that I have learned to foster and cultivate over time are balance and moderation. I believe the keys to solid relationships are the abilities to listen, communicate, respect, and take action to make things right. I'm a 37-year-old North Easterner, settled in Delaware, working as a professional, and maintaining a relationship and entrepreneurship together. Find me on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

